top of page

The Cliffs of Insanity

Hey guys!

Quick question: What is your favorite quote from The Princess Bride?

"Fog rolls over the mossy green earth.

Waves smash into the rock far below,

Slowly clawing endlessly at reason.

A seagull cries in the distance,

Warning you to come away.

Ocean winds rips at your skin and pull at your hair,

Softly begging you to come closer.

You stare into the mist.

Into the unseen.

Into the unknown.

A whisper,

Is this the edge?"

Dia dhuit! Hello!

I am so excited to finally be sharing my experiences in Ireland and I can't wait to tell you everything!

Today I'll be talking about:

THE CLIFFS OF MOHER

You may know them as The Cliffs of Insanity from The Princess Bride!

The cliffs are located on the coast in County Clare and drop over 700 feet to the icy Atlantic Ocean. They are huge and a real sight to behold!

Even though it was pretty crowded and the weather was a little rough, we had a great time!

Just off the beginning of the trail was a field of cows and one in particular was so sweet!

She let us rub her head and I even caught her smiling in the top left picture!

So cute, I love cows!

Someone please buy me a cow.

The sloping cliffs were so rainy and windy I thought I might fly off the edge like a kite! Luckily I didn't!

There were caution signs all over and the ground along the edge has been known to give way unexpectedly, so we stayed as far away as possible!

My sister, Lauren (aka Hello Whimzy) and I both had inspirations for our outfits at the cliffs.

She continued with The Princess Bride theme and dressed like Princess Buttercup.

For my inspiration I went with Claire from Outlander.

I'll admit,

We did look a little out of place in our dresses and such, compared to everyone else there wearing hiking gear!

Oh well!

I'll do just about anything to get a good picture! That includes hiking in a skirt!

Speaking of good pictures, we saw a couple there who were getting married and taking bridals!

They looked beautiful and it was so cool!

Definitely wedding goals.

Lauren and I think we should use the picture on the right for our Christmas card.

What do you think?

Do you believe that we didn't plan on coordinating at all?

Also, do you like how light she is compared to how dark I am?

Lol.

I love having a sister as a best friend.

This was the perfect place to begin our Holiday in Ireland!

The cliffs are haunting and magnificent and if you ever get the chance to see this amazing place, I strongly suggest making sure you go!

So there you have it! Our adventure at The Cliffs of Moher!

In my next post I'll be talking about an art college in a castle! Don't miss it!

Let me know in the comments if you have ever seen The Princess Bride or Outlander! I'd love to know what you think of them!

Thanks so much!

- Desert Hare

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page